You are not alone on your path.

mamawapowuk means “gathering” in michif.

The first step to healing is not feeling alone, and with the ongoing impact felt by COVID-19 the kakichihiwewin project is offering “mamawapowuk”, a 12 week online community building group. Each week we will hear from a guest speaker, participate in activities together and create bonds to help facilitate the healing process for those of us affected by forced assimilation, generational / intergenerational and the present day trauma we carry as Indigenous peoples.

 

This space will not be run by a professional therapist, but will be a therapeutic setting for Indigenous folks who are in need of a sense of belonging and inclusion on their path to healing.

 

The gatherings will take place every Thursday from September 2nd until November 18th at 4pm PT / 6pm CT / 7pm ET and last 90 minutes.

 

***We ask that you can commit to the entire 12 weeks.

 

Understandably, there are obstacles at times, but to ensure the integrity of the group, we ask that you be present and mindful of the space and time of the other attendees.  Additionally at this time we are only able to permit adults 18 and over to attend.

 

10 spots will be available, on a first come, first serve basis and this program will be offered three times a year.

 

There is no charge to attend or join the group.

 

Registration for September-November’s mamawapowuk sessions have been filled. Please check back in November for January’s gatherings.